Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet Series | Application & Regions

Print Friendly

Application for Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet (GCDP) Series

Any middle school, high school, college or university student or any adult poet not currently enrolled in an academic program may apply for the GCDP Series mentorship.

The adult student poet does not need to submit an instructor recommendation, otherwise the application requirements are essentially the same.

There is no cost for applying.  Click here for the GCDPS 2017-18 student application.

The application deadline is November 15, 2017.

North Carolina Regions

The following is a list of the North Carolina counties constituting the three regions for purposes of the Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet Series:

Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet SeriesStudent Poets apply in these Counties
Western Central Eastern
32 Counties 32 Counties 35 Counties
Alexander Alamance Beaufort
Alleghany Anson Bertie
Ashe Cabarrus Bladen
Avery Caswell Brunswick
Buncombe Chatham Camden
Burke Cumberland Carteret
Caldwell Davidson Chowan
Catawba Durham Columbus
Cherokee Franklin Craven
Clay Granville Currituck
Cleveland Guilford Dare
Davie Harnett Duplin
Forsyth Hoke Edgecomb
Gaston Iredell Gates
Graham Lee Greene
Haywood Mecklenburg Halifax
Henderson Montgomery Hertford
Jackson Moore Hyde
Lincoln Orange Jones
Macon Person Lenoir
Madison Randolph Martin
McDowell Richmond Nash
Mitchell Robeson New Hanover
Polk Rockingham Northhampton
Rutherford Rowan Onslow
Surry Scotland Pamlico
Swain Stanley Pasquotank
Transylvania Stokes Pender
Watauga Union Perquimans
Wilkes Vance Pitt
Yadkin Wake Sampson
Yancey Warren Tyrell