Print Friendly


Join us for the September 16 meeting of the North Carolina Poetry Society.  In the morning we will hear readings by winners of the Brockman-Campbell Book Award, sponsored by the Poetry Society.  A tribute to our beloved former president, Susan Laughter Meyers, will be followed by open mic.  After lunch, Philip Shabazz will regale us with his work.  For a detailed schedule and more information about the writers, click here.

Brockman-Campbell Book Award Winners
The 2017 Brockman-Campbell Book Award was won by Alan Michael Parker’s The Ladder. Two other books were recognized with Honorable Mentions: Bright Stranger, by Katherine Soniat and The Door That Always Opens, by Julie Funderburk.  The winners will read at the 16 September 2017 meeting of the Poetry Society at Weymouth Center for the Arts in Southern Pines.  Click here for more information about the winners and their books.

NC Poetry Society Officers for 2017-19
New officers and Board members took charge following the May 27 meeting.  Please welcome President: Sam Barbee; Vice President: Alice Osborn; Co-Vice Presidents for Membership: Joan Barasovska and Laura Younger; Recording Secretary: TBD; Corresponding Secretary: Cal Nordt; Treasurer: Bill Griffin; Adult Contests Director: TBD; Student Contests Director: Michael Beadle; and At-Large Board Members: Tori Reynolds and Ty Stumpf.  To read brief biographies of the new Board members, click here.  These new Board members will lead the Poetry Society through the 2017-2019 term.

Upcoming Event
Sam Barbee, president of the NC Poetry Society, will read from his new poetry collection City Lights Bookstore at the First Tuesday Poetry Open Mike at 7 p.m., Tuesday, August 1, at the Trent River Coffee Company in New Bern.

Poetry Opportunity
Flyleaf Books is pleased to announce the seventh annual Flyleaf Books Second Thursday Poetry Contest.  Poets may submit one poem of up to 60 lines; the entry must be original and may be previously published.  Send entries to flyleafpoetrycontest@gmail.com with FLYLEAF CONTEST in the subject line and your name, address, and phone number in the body of the email.  Poems must be submitted before midnight, August 31, 2017.  The winner and runner-up will be invited to read for ten minutes at the Second Thursday event on Thursday, October 12.  For further information, contact the email address above.