Officer Bios

Print Friendly

Board Members for 2017-19

President: Sam Barbee was a three-term Treasurer of the NCPS and served on the board which organized the International Poetry Festival in 1989 at Duke University.  His second collection, That Rain We Needed (Press 53), was published in April of 2016.  He was awarded the 59th Poet Laureate Award from the NC Poetry Society for his poem “The Blood Watch.”  Sam lives in Winston-Salem with his wife and two children and is a past president of Winston-Salem Writers.

Vice President of Programming: Alice Osborn teaches classes and writing workshops to aspiring authors.  Heroes without Capes is her most recent collection of poetry.  Alice has also edited the anthologies Tattoos and Creatures of Habitat.  Her work has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies and she performs regularly across North Carolina.

Senior Vice President of Membership: Joan Barasovska lives in Orange County, close to Carrboro.  She has a private practice in academic therapy, teaching kids with a variety of challenging school problems.  Joan started writing when she was ten and finds that as she gets older she writes fewer but better poems.  She is the co-host of the Flyleaf Books Second Thursday Poetry Reading Series in Chapel Hill.

Vice President of Membership: Alana Dagenhart is a poet, artist, scholar, and the author of Blood (Finishing Line, 2016).  Her poems have appeared in a variety of journals. She is an associate professor of English at Johnson & Wales University in Charlotte and serves as a volunteer for the Iredell Arts Council, where she hosts a monthly open-mic.  Her most recent scholarship focuses on place studies and poetry of the southern Appalachian Mountains.

Recording Secretary: Dorothy Baird became serious about writing poetry after she moved to Chapel Hill six years ago. Her chapbook Indelible Ripples (Aldrich) made its debut in May 2017.  She is a former teacher in the English department of Western Connecticut University and managing editor of Heat Treating, a journal serving a facet of the steel industry.  After a lifetime of corporate moves, she is happy to be living in North Carolina.

Corresponding Secretary: Cal Nordt returned to poetry after a 35-year absence, writing poems pretending to be about science.  He is working on stories of his life and times.  He has a degree in English from Yale.  His early influences were the poets in Donald Allen’s New American Poetry and the Black Mountain College poets of western North Carolina.

Treasurer: Bill Griffin is a family doctor and geriatrician in rural North Carolina.  He’s served on the Board of the NC Poetry Society as Treasurer for many years.  His poems have appeared in many regional and national journals.  In 2009 Griffin received the North Carolina Poetry Society’s Poet Laureate Award, judged by Kathryn Stripling Byer.  His most recent poetry chapbook is little mouse (Main Street Rag 2011).

Adult Contests Chair: Chris Tonelli works in the libraries at NC State University and co-owns So & So Books in Raleigh.  He is the founding editor of Birds, LLC and curates the So & So Series and edits So & So Magazine.  Chris is the author of five chapbooks and two full-length collections, The Trees Abound and Whatever Stasis, forthcoming from Barrelhouse Books.

Student Contests Chair: Michael Beadle’s poems have been included in numerous journals and anthologies including The New Southerner, Great Smokies Review, Kakalak, Pinesong, Sow’s Ear, and The Main Street Rag.  He has published three poetry chapbooks, produced a CD of original poems, and served as emcee of the annual Poetry Out Loud North Carolina state finals.

At-Large Board Member: Tori Reynolds lives in Durham and has been a Member-At-Large on the NCPS board since 2014.  Her poems have appeared in a variety of literary journals and anthologies.  This year, one of her poems was a finalist in the James Applewhite Prize and will be published in the North Carolina Literary Review.  By day, she is a clinical psychologist who consults on death penalty and military rape cases.

At-Large Board Member: Ty Stumpf lives in Sanford, NC and is the Chair of the Humanities Department at Central Carolina Community College.  Ty received his B.A. in English from Catawba College and his M.A. in English and creative writing from North Carolina State University.  His poetry has appeared in many journals.  Ty and his wife, Bianka, have a son named Jude and a daughter named Cora.