North Carolina Poetry Society » North Carolina Poetry Society's Website

Masthead header

Lena Shull Book Contest Winners

Print Friendly



Becky Gould Gibson’s book, Heading Home, the winner of the first annual Lena Shull book contest, is now available for pre-order at MSR:

Please note that Main Street Rag has offered to donate a dollar to NCPS for the printing of next year’s winning manuscript for each book sold. Not only will your purchase be a great book of poems, it’s also a fundraiser for NCPS! Thanks, MSR!

The North Carolina Poetry Society is happy to announce the first annual Lena M. Shull Book Contest winner. Our judge Diane Lockward chose Becky Gould Gibson’s manuscript “Heading Home.” The Lena Shull book contest was recently created by an endowment from the North Carolina Poetry Council. Ms. Gibson will receive $250 and 50 copies of her book, which will be published by Main Street Rag. The award will be presented to her on Poetry Day at Catawba Valley Community College in April 2014.

  • Becky Gould Gibson’s poetry has appeared in many journals, including Connecticut River Review, CAIRN, Hiram Poetry Review, Iris, Kalliope, Ekphrasis, Feminist Studies, Brooklyn Review, 10th Muse, Shearsman, The South Carolina Review, Chiron Review, The Comstock Review, and The Texas Review, as well as in several anthologies, the most recent of these, Don’t Leave Hungry: 50 Years of Southern Poetry Review (University of Arkansas Press, 2009) and Adrienne Rich: A Tribute Anthology (Split Oak Press, 2012).

    Becky has published two prize-winning chapbooks of poetry, Off-Road Meditations (North Carolina Writers’ Network, 1989) and Holding Ground (White Eagle Coffee Store Press, 1996), as well as three full-length volumes: First Life (Emrys Press, 1997); Need-Fire, winner of the 2005 poetry book contest held by Bright Hill Press (published 2007); and Aphrodite’s Daughter, winner of Texas Review Press’s 2006 X.J. Kennedy Prize (published 2007). Need-Fire also received the North Carolina Poetry Society’s 2008 Brockman-Campbell Award. Becky won the 2012 William Matthews Prize from the Asheville Poetry Review for her sonnet sequence “Heading Home” and an 2012 International Publication Prize from Atlanta Review for “The Supernumerary” and “Selling Sorrow.”

    Earning a Ph.D. from UNC-Chapel Hill in 1977, Becky has taught literature, writing, and Women’s Studies, mostly at Guilford College where she retired after twenty years in May 2008. Since retirement, she served two terms as Gilbert Chappell Distinguished Poet for the Central District (2009-2011); currently she is a member of the Forsyth County Historic Resources Commission. What she does for fun, when she’s not at her desk, is hang out with her goofy little granddaughter.

  • Ms. Lockward chose Steve Cushman’s manuscript “In Training” as honorable mention. Steve Cushman earned an MFA from UNC-Greensboro.He has published two novels,Portisville and Heart With Joy as well as the short story collection, Fracture City. His first poetry chapbook,Hospital Work, was published in 2013. More information on his writing can be found at
  • The judge Diane Lockward is the author of The Crafty Poet: A Portable Workshop (Wind Publications, 2013) and three poetry books, most recently Temptation by Water. Her previous books are What Feeds Us, which received the 2006 Quentin R. Howard Poetry Prize, and Eve’s Red Dress. She is also the author of two chapbooks, Against Perfection and Greatest Hits: 1997-2010. Her poems have been included in such anthologies as Poetry Daily: 360 Poems from the World’s Most Popular Poetry Website and Garrison Keillor’s Good Poems for Hard Times, and in such journals as Harvard Review, Spoon River Poetry Review, and Prairie Schooner. Her work has also been featured on Poetry Daily, Verse Daily, and The Writer’s Almanac.
O n   F a c e b o o k
O n   T w i t t e r