North Carolina Poetry Society » North Carolina Poetry Society's Website

Masthead header

Brockman-Campbell Book Award

Print Friendly

For the winners of the Brockman-Campbell Award, see

Endowed by the families of Christine Sloan and Mary Belle Campbell

Postmark Deadline: May 1, 2014


  • The contest is open to poets who published a book-length volume of poetry in 2013.
  • Entrants must be native-born North Carolinians or current residents who have lived in the state for at least three years at the time of publication.
  • An entry must be a first edition by a single author. It must contain 20 or more pages of poetry, and it must have a 2013 copyright date.


  • A cash prize of $200 will be presented to one winner only.
  • The winner will be invited to read at the fall meeting of the NCPS.


  • Each submission should include:
    1. one copy of the book
    2. a biographical sketch of the author
    3. a stamped postcard for acknowledging receipt of the submission
    4. your email address
    5. a business-sized SASE for announcement of the winner.

Entry fee

  • Members of the Poetry Society pay $10 (new for 2014)
  • The fee for non-members is $20. (Make checks payable to the North Carolina Poetry Society.)

Mail contest entries to:

Jo Taylor
7232 Ridgeline Drive
Raleigh 27613

Any questions? E-mail Jo Taylor —

Contest Judge

  • The name of the 2013 book contest judge will be posted here after the contest deadline, along with a brief biographical sketch.
  • The NCPS thanks Norbert Krapf for judging the 2011 book contest.

Norbert Krapf was born in 1943 in Jasper, Indiana, a German community. He graduated from Jasper High School and received a B.A. in English from St. Joseph’s College, Rensselaer, IN. He received his M.A. in English from the University of Notre Dame and also his Ph.D. in English and American Literature, with a concentration in American Poetry. He taught at the C. W. Post Campus of Long Island University 1970-2004, where he is now emeritus Professor of English, was Poet Laureate 2003-2007, and directed the C. W. Post Poetry Center. He twice served in Germany as a Senior Fulbright Professor of American Poetry, at the Universities of Freiburg and Erlangen-Nuremberg. He was also a U.S. Exchange Teacher at West Oxon Technical College, England. In June of 2008, he was appointed to a two-year term as Indiana Poet Laureate. Songs in Sepia and Black and White from Indiana University Press is Norbert Krapf’s twenty-fourth book and ninth full-length poetry collection, released in July 2012.

Previous Judges:
2012: Norbert Krapf
2011: Diane Gilliam
2010: David Romtvedt

O n   F a c e b o o k
M o r e   i n f o