North Carolina Poetry Society » North Carolina Poetry Society's Website

Masthead header
North Carolina Poetry Society bio picture
  • Spring is here – time for renewal!

    Congratulations to the winners of the North Carolina Poetry Society Contests.

    Don't miss Awards Day on May 27!


The North Carolina Poetry Society

Welcome to the North Carolina Poetry Society!  If you would like to join the Society and receive our monthly e-newsletter and thrice-yearly print newsletter, contact membership(at)  Become part of a state-wide community of poets and poetry lovers!

Download our membership brochure.

The North Carolina Poetry Society is an inclusive, welcoming community that does not discriminate on the basis of race, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, religion, age, political preference, or any other category which has been used to divide human beings from each other and the natural world.  We value diverse voices and variety of expression.

If you have any questions or comments about the site, contact us.


Join us for Awards Day on May 27!

Our annual Awards Day celebration is always something special.  We get to hear the student and adult winners of this year’s NCPS contests – the best of the best – and pick up copies of Pinesong.  And it’s always heart-warming to meet the students and their parents and teachers.  For a complete schedule of events, click here.  Don’t miss this special day during a beautiful time of year at Weymouth Center for the Arts in Southern Pines.

to the winners of this year’s contests sponsored by the North Carolina Poetry Society.  For a list of adult winners, winning titles, and contest categories, click here.  For a list of student winners and contest categories, click here.  Keep an eye out for this year’s issue of Pinesong, edited by Leslie Rupracht, which will showcase all the winning poems.  And don’t miss Awards Day on May 27, when many of the prize-winning poets will read their work.

Pinesong Dedication
This year’s Pinesong is dedicated to our wonderful former North Carolina Poet Laureate, Kathryn Stripling Byer.  She will be honored at Awards Day on May 27.  To read more about this much-deserved honor, click here.

McIntyre’s Books Reading Series
Becky Gould Gibson, Susan Spalt, and Janet Joyner will be this month’s featured readers at the McIntyre’s Books reading series on Sunday, May 28, in Fearrington Village (on 15/501 between Chapel Hill and Pittsboro).  Hosted by Carolyn and Guy York, the reading starts at 2:00 p.m.  The authors will be happy to discuss and sign their new books.

Upcoming Event
The Flyleaf Books Second Thursday Poetry Series will feature Priscilla Webster-Williams and Gabrielle Grant Freeman on May 11 from 7:00-8:30 p.m. at 752 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. in Chapel Hill.  Prior to the reading at 6:30, a book launch will be held for Priscilla’s new collection, The Narrative Possibilities of Coral.




O n   F a c e b o o k
O n   T w i t t e r